Roundnose Grenadier

Coryphaenoides rupestris

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Roundnose Grenadier (Coryphaenoides rupestris) is a deepwater, marine fish. It belongs to the family Macrouridae, a family commonly referred to as “rattails”. It has the following characteristics:

  • Body is short and slightly compressed, with a long, tapering, pointed tail;
  • Broad, compressed head with a soft, rounded snout;
  • Small barbel on chin, and a button-shaped plate on the tip of its snout;
  • Medium brown to grey in colour, with brownish-grey to black fins and mouth;
  • Can grow to 110 cm in length and weigh 1.7 kg; and
  • Can live to at least 72 years of age.

Habitat

Roundnose Grenadier is found on the continental slopes and the mid-Atlantic ridge of the North Atlantic Ocean. In the west, its range extends northwards from Cape Hatteras to Baffin Island and Greenland. In the east, its range extends from North Africa to Norway. In Canadian waters, this species is most abundant from Davis Strait, on the continental slope off of Newfoundland and Labrador, and along the edge of the Grand Banks to Georges Bank. It is sometimes captured on the Scotian Shelf.

Roundnose Grenadier is a deepwater fish that forms large schools. It is most abundant at depths of 400–1,200 m and has been reported as deep as 2,600 m. It prefers habitat with little or no current and water temperatures of 3.5–4.5 °C. Owing to its preference for deep waters, life stages of the Roundnose Grenadier are not well understood. Exact timing of spawning is unknown and may occur throughout the year. The eggs are round, 2.4 mm in diameter, free-floating, and are fertilized externally during a spawning event (known as “batch” spawning). This species has a low fecundity, a slow growth rate, and is late to mature. Females mature at about 10 years of age. Despite being very slow swimmers, Roundnose Grenadiers undergo seasonal migrations (possibly following preferred water temperatures or prey), as well as daily vertical migrations of more than 1,000 m off of the ocean floor (to feed on shrimp, shrimp-like crustaceans, squids, and small fish).

Threats

Fishing is the principal threat to Roundnose Grenadier. In the late 1950s–1960s, Roundnose Grenadier was harvested commercially through a targeted fishery. Directed fishing of Roundnose Grenadier has been under moratorium in North Atlantic Fisheries Organization Subareas 0, 2, and 3 since 1997. However, Roundnose Grenadier can be a significant bycatch in deepwater fisheries such as those targeting Greenland Halibut (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides). Outside of Canadian waters, the Roundnose Grenadier fishery is not regulated, with the exception of net mesh size. To date, there are no signs of population recovery for Roundnose Grenadier in Canadian waters.

Roundnose Grenadier populations are very susceptible to mortality caused by humans, because of their life-history characteristics (long lifespan, slow growth rates, late maturity and low fecundity) that limit this species' recovery after a disturbance.

Further Information

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Text Sources:

COSEWIC. 2008. COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Roundnose Grenadier
Coryphaenoides rupestris in Canada.
Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada.
Ottawa. vii + 42 pp.

Roundnose Grenadier

Illustration of a Roundnose Grenadier

Illustration of a Roundnose Grenadier viewed from the side.
(Illustration: Gary Taylor)

The Roundnose Grenadier is medium brown to grey in colour and its fins and mouth are brownish-grey to black. The body is short, slightly compressed and tapers evenly to a sharp pointed tail. It has a fairly short and compressed head (comprising approximately 15% of its body length) and has a soft, rounded snout. There is a small barbel (whisker-like appendage) on the chin.

Scientific name: Coryphaenoides rupestris
SARA status: No Status
COSEWIC status: Endangered
Regions: Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut, and Nova Scotia

Did You Know?

Common names for the Roundnose Grenadier include Rattail, Rock Grenadier, Blunt-snouted Grenadier, and Black Grenadier. It is distinguished from other grenadiers in the North Atlantic by its soft, rounded snout and short, compressed head. Like many deepwater species, young grenadiers feed mainly on small crustaceans (amphipods, copepods) and gradually switch to eating fish and shrimp as they grow in length. Female Roundnose Grenadiers grow larger and heavier than males, and this species can live to at least 72 years of age.

Related information

Grenadier de roche

Coryphaenoides rupestris

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le grenadier de roche (Coryphaenoides rupestris) est un poisson marin des grands fonds. Il appartient à la famille des Macrouridés, communément appelés « grenadiers ». Il présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Corps court, légèrement comprimé, avec une queue longue s'effilant en pointe;
  • Tête large et comprimée, avec un museau lisse et arrondi;
  • Petit barbillon présent sur le menton, et une plaque en forme de bouton sur l'extrémité de son museau;
  • Corps brun moyen à gris, avec une bouche et des nageoires noires à brunâtres-grises;
  • Les individus peuvent mesurer jusqu'à 110 cm de longueur et peser 1,7 kg;
  • Il peut vivre jusqu'à 72 ans.

Habitat

Le grenadier de roche vit sur les talus continentaux et la dorsale médio-atlantique de l'océan Atlantique Nord. Dans la partie ouest de l'Atlantique Nord, il est présent depuis le cap Hatteras jusqu'à l'île de Baffin et au Groenland. Dans la partie est de l'Atlantique, l'espèce est observée depuis l'Afrique du Nord jusqu'à la Norvège. Dans les eaux canadiennes, le grenadier de roche est surtout abondant à partir du détroit de Davis, sur le talus continental au large de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, et le long du pourtour du Grand Banc jusqu'au banc Georges. Des spécimens sont capturés à l'occasion sur le plateau néo-écossais.

Le grenadier de roche est un poisson de profondeur qui forme de grands bancs. Il est surtout abondant à des profondeurs variant de 400 à 1 200 mètres, mais sa présence a été signalée jusqu'à une profondeur de 2 600 mètres. Il affectionne les habitats au courant faible ou nul et les températures oscillant entre 3,5 et 4,5 °C. Ses stades de développement ne sont pas bien connus du fait de sa préférence pour les eaux profondes. La période de fraie exacte est inconnue et pourrait s'étaler sur toute l'année. Les œufs sont de forme sphérique et d'un diamètre de 2,4 mm; ils flottent librement, leur fertilisation est externe et a lieu au moment de la fraie. Cette espèce est caractérisée par un faible taux de fécondité, un rythme de croissance lent et une maturation tardive. Les femelles atteignent la maturité à 10 ans environ. Bien que le grenadier de roche nage très lentement, il effectue des migrations saisonnières (possiblement pour suivre ses températures d'eau et proies préférées) de même que des migrations verticales diurnes de plus de 1 000 m à partir du plancher océanique (pour se nourrir de crevettes, de crustacés semblables à des crevettes, de calmars et de petits poissons).

Menaces

La pêche représente la principale menace à laquelle fait face le grenadier de roche. À la fin des années 1950 et pendant les années 1960, le grenadier de roche était exploité commercialement dans le cadre d'une pêche dirigée. La pêche dirigée du grenadier de roche fait l'objet d'un moratoire dans les sous-zones 0, 2 et 3 de l'Organisation des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest depuis 1997. Cependant, le grenadier de roche peut représenter une partie importante des prises accessoires dans les pêches en eau profonde telles que celles du flétan du Groenland (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides). Outre un règlement sur la dimension minimale des mailles des filets, la pêche au grenadier de roche n'est pas réglementée dans les eaux internationales. À ce jour, le grenadier de roche ne montre aucun signe de rétablissement de population dans les eaux canadiennes.

Les populations du grenadier de roche sont très vulnérables à la mortalité causée par les humains, en raison des caractéristiques de leur cycle biologique (longue durée de vie, rythme de croissance lent, maturité tardive et faible taux de fécondité) qui limitent le rétablissement de l'espèce après une perturbation.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Sources :

COSEPAC. 2008. Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le grenadier de roche
Coryphaenoides rupestris au Canada.
Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada.
Ottawa. vii + 42 p.

Grenadier de roche

Illustration d'un Grenadier de roche vu de profil

Illustration d'un grenadier de roche vu de profil.
(Illustration : Gary Taylor)

Le grenadier de roche a un corps brun moyen à gris, avec une bouche et des nageoires brunâtres-gris à noires. Son corps est court, légèrement comprimé et s'effile de façon uniforme pour former une queue pointue. Sa tête est assez courte et comprimée (représentant environ 15 % de la longueur du corps), et son museau est lisse et arrondi. Il présente un petit barbillon (appendice ressemblant à des moustaches) sur le menton.

Nom scientifique : Coryphaenoides rupestris
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Région : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Nunavut et Nouvelle-Écosse

Le saviez-vous?

Le grenadier de roche se distingue des autres grenadiers de l'Atlantique Nord par son museau lisse et arrondi, et par sa tête courte et comprimée. Comme de nombreuses espèces d'eau profonde, les jeunes grenadiers se nourrissent principalement de petits crustacés (amphipodes, copépodes), puis se nourrissent ensuite de poissons et de crevettes lorsqu'ils grandissent. Les femelles deviennent plus grosses et plus lourdes que les mâles. Cette espèce peut vivre jusqu'à 72 ans.

Renseignements connexes