Atlantic Salmon (Quebec Eastern North Shore population – DU7)

Salmo salar

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Atlantic Salmon has a fusiform body shape that is somewhat compressed laterally and has an average length of about 457 mm. Its back is blue-green, its sides are silvery with several markings that are either round or x-shaped, and its belly is white. During the reproduction period, the Atlantic Salmon loses its silver colour and takes on a greenish or reddish hue; a few large, white-edged spots then appear on its sides.

Habitat

Atlantic Salmon spawn in fresh water, generally in their native river. Juveniles spend one to eight years in fresh water before migrating to salt water in the North Atlantic. After staying at sea for one to four years, adults return to fresh water to spawn. Salmon rivers are generally clear, cool and well oxygenated, with gravel, cobble and boulder substrates.

Because Atlantic Salmon have a high degree of fidelity to their natal rivers and given their adaptation to the stream they frequent (e.g., difference in morphology, life cycle and behaviour), the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has identified 16 designatables units (DU) of Atlantic Salmon, 11 of which are considered at risk. Atlantic Salmon of the Quebec Eastern North Shore population (DU7) reproduce in the tributaries of the St. Lawrence River's north shore between the Checatica River and the Kegaska River. This population has 20 known salmon rivers.

Threats

The causes of the widespread decline of Atlantic Salmon are not well understood. Several major reviews have attempted to identify and prioritize the causes of this situation. The low rate of survival at sea was cited as the primary cause of the decline. The populations are also threatened by climatic changes and environmental changes in the ocean; Aboriginal, recreational and illegal fishing; obstacles in fresh water (e.g. dams); agriculture; urbanization; aquaculture and invasive species. In some cases, the habitat used for freshwater spawning is degraded.

The small size of the Quebec Eastern North Shore population (about 5,000 individuals in 2008) is cause for concern. The number of small individuals (that spent one winter at sea) decreased over the past three generations while the number of large individuals (that spent more than one winter at sea) increased during the same period. The total number of mature individuals saw a decline of approximately 14%.

Further Information

The Atlantic Salmon commercial fishery was closed progressively in Canadian waters from the mid-1980s until the complete closure in 2000. Aboriginal peoples continue to fish in several salmon rivers for food, social and ceremonial purposes. Salmon represents an important cultural tradition to which they attach great value. Lastly, recreational fishing is still authorized. Restrictive management measures are imposed for each river based on abundance estimates. These measures include catch limits, mandatory release of large salmon to the water, and closures of certain watercourses. Salmon habitat is protected under the fish habitat protection provisions of the Fisheries Act.

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

Atlantic Salmon (Quebec Eastern North Shore population – DU7)

Atlantic Salmon

Scientific name: Salmo salar
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (November 2010)
Region: Quebec

Distribution range for the Quebec Eastern North Shore population of Atlantic Salmon

Distribution range for the Quebec Eastern North Shore population of Atlantic Salmon
S. Proulx, DFO 2012.

Salmon life cycle

Salmon life cycle

Did You Know?

Since the year 2000, the Government of Quebec has established a new conservation threshold for each salmon river. This threshold is based on the minimal number of eggs required to preserve the species while ensuring a level of abundance that enables the optimal use of the resource in the long-term.

School of Atlantic Salmon

School of Atlantic Salmon
D. Danvoye

Related information

Saumon atlantique (population de l’est de la Côte-Nord du Québec - UD7)

Salmo salar

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le saumon atlantique a un corps fusiforme quelque peu comprimé latéralement, d’une longueur moyenne d’environ 457 mm. Le dos est bleu-vert, les flancs sont argentés avec plusieurs taches rondes ou en forme de « x » et le ventre est blanc. En période de reproduction, le saumon atlantique perd sa couleur argentée et devient plutôt d’une teinte verdâtre ou rougeâtre; quelques grandes taches bordées de blanc sont alors présentes sur ses flancs.

Habitat

Les saumons atlantiques se reproduisent en eau douce, généralement dans la rivière qui les a vus naître. Les jeunes saumons passent d’une à huit années en eau douce avant de migrer vers l’eau salée de l’Atlantique Nord. Après avoir séjourné entre une à quatre années en mer, les saumons, devenus adultes, reviendront en eau douce pour frayer. Les cours d’eau fréquentés sont généralement clairs, frais et bien oxygénés avec un fond de gravier, de galets et de blocs rocheux.

En raison de la grande fidélité du saumon atlantique à sa rivière natale ainsi qu’une adaptation au cours d’eau fréquenté (p. ex. différence dans la morphologie, le cycle vital et le comportement), le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a divisé le saumon atlantique en 16 unités désignables (UD), dont 11 ont obtenu un statut d’espèce en péril. Le saumon atlantique de la population de l’est de la Côte-Nord du Québec (UD7) se reproduit dans les affluents de la rive nord du fleuve Saint-Laurent entre les rivières Checatica et Kegaska. Cette population compte 20 rivières à saumon connues.

Menaces

Les causes du déclin généralisé du saumon atlantique ne sont pas bien comprises. Plusieurs examens importants ont été réalisés pour tenter de cerner et de prioriser les causes de cette situation. Le faible taux de survie en mer a été cité comme la première cause de déclin. Les populations sont aussi menacées par les changements climatiques et les changements environnementaux dans les océans, les pêches autochtone, récréative, et illégale, les obstacles en eau douce comme les barrages, l’agriculture, l’urbanisation, l’aquaculture et les espèces envahissantes. Dans certains cas, l’habitat utilisé pour la reproduction en eau douce est dégradé.

La petite taille de la population de l’est de la Côte-Nord du Québec (environ 5 000 individus en 2008) est inquiétante. L’abondance des individus de petite taille (qui n’ont passé qu’un hiver en mer) a diminué au cours des trois dernières générations alors que l’abondance des individus de grande taille (qui ont passé plusieurs hivers en mer) a augmenté au cours de la même période. Le nombre total d'individus matures a connu un déclin estimé à 14 %.

Renseignements supplémentaires

La pêche commerciale au saumon atlantique a été fermée progressivement dans les eaux canadiennes du milieu des années 1980 jusqu’à la fermeture complète en 2000. Pour leur part, les peuples autochtones pratiquent toujours la pêche dans plusieurs rivières à saumon à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles. De tout temps, cette activité représente une tradition culturelle importante à laquelle les Autochtones accordent une très grande valeur. Enfin, la pêche sportive est toujours autorisée. Des mesures de gestion restrictives sont imposées par rivière en fonction des estimations d’abondance; ces mesures peuvent comprendre, par exemple, des limites de prise, une obligation de remettre à l’eau les grands saumons et une fermeture de certains cours d’eau. L’habitat du saumon est protégé en vertu des dispositions portant sur la protection de l’habitat du poisson de la Loi sur les pêches.

Visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Saumon atlantique (population de l’est de la Côte-Nord du Québec - UD7)

Saumon atlantique

Nom scientifique : Salmo salar
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupant (novembre 2010)
Région : Québec

Aire de répartition de la population de l’est de la Côte-Nord du Québec

Aire de répartition de la population de l’est de la Côte-Nord du Québec
S. Proulx, MPO 2012

Cycle de reproduction du saumon

Cycle de reproduction du saumon

Le saviez-vous?

Depuis l’an 2000, le gouvernement du Québec a instauré un nouveau seuil de conservation pour chacune des rivières à saumon. Ce seuil se base sur un nombre minimal d’œuf requis pour préserver l’espèce tout en assurant un niveau d’abondance qui permet l’exploitation optimale de la ressource à long terme.

Banc de saumons atlantiques

Banc de saumons atlantiques
D. Danvoye

Renseignements connexes