Atlantic Salmon (Quebec Western North Shore population – DU8)

Salmo salar

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Atlantic Salmon has a fusiform body shape that is somewhat compressed laterally and has an average length of about 457 mm. Its back is blue-green, its sides are silvery with several markings that are either round or x-shaped, and its belly is white. During the reproduction period, the Atlantic Salmon loses its silver colour and takes on a greenish or reddish hue; a few large, white-edged spots then appear on its sides.

Habitat

Atlantic Salmon spawn in fresh water, generally in their native river. Juveniles spend one to eight years in fresh water before migrating to salt water in the North Atlantic. After staying at sea for one to four years, adults return to fresh water to spawn. Salmon rivers are generally clear, cool and well oxygenated, with gravel, cobble and boulder substrates.

Because Atlantic Salmon have a high degree of fidelity to their natal rivers and given their adaptation to the stream they frequent (e.g., difference in morphology, life cycle and behaviour), the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has identified 16 designatables units (DU) of Atlantic Salmon, 11 of which are considered at risk. Atlantic Salmon of the Quebec Western North Shore population (DU8) reproduce in the tributaries of the St. Lawrence River's north shore between the Natashquan River and the Escoumins River. This population has 25 known salmon rivers.

Threats

The causes of the widespread decline of Atlantic Salmon are not well understood. Several major reviews have attempted to identify and prioritize the causes of this situation. The low rate of survival at sea was cited as the primary cause of the decline. The populations are also threatened by climatic changes and environmental changes in the ocean; Aboriginal, recreational and illegal fishing; obstacles in fresh water (e.g. dams); agriculture; urbanization; aquaculture and invasive species. In some cases, the habitat used for freshwater spawning is degraded.

In the Quebec Western North Shore population, the number of small (that spent one winter at sea) and large (that spent more than one winter at sea) individuals decreased over the past three generations, representing a net decline of approximately 24% in the total number of mature individuals. The size of this population was estimated at close to 15,000 individuals in 2008.

Further Information

The Atlantic Salmon commercial fishery was closed progressively in Canadian waters from the mid-1980s until the complete closure in 2000. Aboriginal peoples continue to fish in several salmon rivers for food, social and ceremonial purposes. Salmon represents an important cultural tradition to which they attach great value. Lastly, recreational fishing is still authorized. Restrictive management measures are imposed for each river based on abundance estimates. These measures include catch limits, mandatory release of large salmon to the water, and closures of certain watercourses. Salmon habitat is protected under the fish habitat protection provisions of the Fisheries Act.

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

Atlantic Salmon (Quebec Western North Shore population – DU8)

Atlantic Salmon

Scientific name: Salmo salar
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (November 2010)
Region: Quebec

Distribution range for the Quebec Western North Shore population of Atlantic Salmon

Distribution range for the Quebec Western North Shore population of Atlantic Salmon
S. Proulx, DFO 2012

Salmon life cycle

Salmon life cycle

Did You Know?

Monitoring carried out by the Government of Quebec in the Trinité River on the North Shore shows a decrease of the abundance of grilse (smaller fish that return to spawn after one winter at sea) and multi sea winter (larger fish that return to spawn after two or more winters at sea) since the 80s.

School of Atlantic Salmon

School of Atlantic Salmon
D. Danvoye

Related information

Saumon atlantique (population de l’ouest de la Côte-Nord du Québec - UD8)

Salmo salar

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le saumon atlantique a un corps fusiforme quelque peu comprimé latéralement, d’une longueur moyenne d’environ 457 mm. Le dos est bleu-vert, les flancs sont argentés avec plusieurs taches rondes ou en forme de « x » et le ventre est blanc. En période de reproduction, le saumon atlantique perd sa couleur argentée et devient plutôt d’une teinte verdâtre ou rougeâtre; quelques grandes taches bordées de blanc sont alors présentes sur ses flancs.

Habitat

Les saumons atlantiques se reproduisent en eau douce, généralement dans la rivière qui les a vus naître. Les jeunes saumons passent d’une à huit années en eau douce avant de migrer vers l’eau salée de l’Atlantique Nord. Après avoir séjourné entre une à quatre années en mer, les saumons, devenus adultes, reviendront en eau douce pour frayer. Les cours d’eau fréquentés sont généralement clairs, frais et bien oxygénés avec un fond de gravier, de galets et de blocs rocheux.

En raison de la grande fidélité du saumon atlantique à sa rivière natale ainsi qu’une adaptation au cours d’eau fréquenté (p. ex. différence dans la morphologie, le cycle vital et le comportement), le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a divisé le saumon atlantique 16 unités désignables (UD), dont 11 ont obtenu un statut d’espèce en péril. Le saumon atlantique de la population de l’ouest de la Côte-Nord du Québec (UD8) se reproduit dans les affluents de la rive nord du fleuve Saint-Laurent entre les rivières Natashquan et Escoumins. Cette population compte 25 rivières à saumon connues.

Menaces

Les causes du déclin généralisé du saumon atlantique ne sont pas bien comprises. Plusieurs examens importants ont été réalisés pour tenter de cerner et de prioriser les causes de cette situation. Le faible taux de survie en mer a été cité comme la première cause de déclin. Les populations sont aussi menacées par les changements climatiques et les changements environnementaux dans les océans, les pêches autochtone, récréative, et illégale, les obstacles en eau douce comme les barrages, l’agriculture, l’urbanisation, l’aquaculture et les espèces envahissantes. Dans certains cas, l’habitat utilisé pour la reproduction en eau douce est dégradé.

Pour la population de l’ouest de la Côte-Nord du Québec, l’abondance des individus de petite taille (qui n’ont passé qu’un hiver en mer) et des individus de grande taille (qui ont passé plusieurs hivers en mer) a diminué au cours de trois dernières générations ce qui représente un déclin net du nombre total d'individus matures d'environ 24 %. La taille de cette population est estimée à près de 15 000 individus en 2008.

Renseignements supplémentaires

La pêche commerciale au saumon atlantique a été fermée progressivement dans les eaux canadiennes du milieu des années 1980 jusqu’à la fermeture complète en 2000. Pour leur part, les peuples autochtones pratiquent toujours la pêche dans plusieurs rivières à saumon à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles. De tout temps, cette activité représente une tradition culturelle importante à laquelle les Autochtones accordent une très grande valeur. Enfin, la pêche sportive est toujours autorisée. Des mesures de gestion restrictives sont imposées par rivière en fonction des estimations d’abondance; ces mesures peuvent comprendre, par exemple, des limites de prise, une obligation de remettre à l’eau les grands saumons et une fermeture de certains cours d’eau. L’habitat du saumon est protégé en vertu des dispositions portant sur la protection de l’habitat du poisson de la Loi sur les pêches.

Visitez leRegistre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Saumon atlantique (population de l’ouest de la Côte-Nord du Québec - UD8)

Saumon atlantique

Nom scientifique : Salmo salar
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupant (novembre 2010)
Région : Québec

Aire de répartition de la population de l’ouest de la Côte-Nord du Québec

Aire de répartition de la population de l’ouest de la Côte-Nord du Québec
S. Proulx, MPO 2012

Cycle de reproduction du saumon

Cycle de reproduction du saumon

Le saviez-vous?

Un suivi mené par le gouvernement du Québec dans la rivière Trinité sur la Côte-Nord montre une diminution de l’abondance des madeleineaux (saumons de petite taille qui retournent en rivière après avoir passé un hiver en mer) et des rédibermarins (saumons de plus grande taille qui retournent en rivière après avoir séjourné durant au moins deux hivers en mer) depuis les années 1980.

Banc de saumons atlantiques

Banc de saumons atlantiques
D. Danvoye

Renseignements connexes