Eastern Sand Darter (Ontario populations)

Ammocrypta pellucida

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Note:

The Eastern Sand Darter was listed as "threatened" under the Species at Risk Act in June 2003. The COSEWIC re-evaluated the species' status in 2009 and maintained its status as "threatened". However, Canadian Eastern Sand Darter populations were split into two designatable units, a first designatable unit for Quebec populations and a second for the populations in Ontario.

Description

The Eastern Sand Darter is a translucent and elongated fish of a yellowish or silvery colour with a series of 10-14 dark lateral spots. It is partially covered with scales. Adults range in length from 45 to 70 mm.

Habitat

The global range of Eastern Sand Darter is limited to North America. Its main range is located in eastern central United States north to the southernmost part of Ontario, with a smaller area located in Quebec and includes a few tributaries in Vermont and New York. In Ontario, it lives in Lake St. Clair, Lake Erie, and several streams in southwestern Ontario.

The Eastern Sand Darter feeds mainly on midge larvae and zooplankton. Eastern Sand Darter are usually found in sandy areas in streams and on the sandy shoals of lakes.

Threats

The extent of occurrence of this species in Ontario is approximately half of what it was in the 1970s as a result of habitat loss and degradation from increasing urban and agricultural development, stream channelization and pollution. Dams have also created barriers to movement and affected habitat on some streams. A potentially significant threat relates to invasive species, with growing concerns relating to the ongoing colonization of the Round Goby in Great Lakes tributaries where the Eastern Sand Darter lives.

Further Information

Since June 2003, the Eastern Sand Darter is protected under the Species at Risk Act, which prohibits harming, killing or capturing individuals.

A recovery strategy is currently being developed in collaboration with the recovery team, which includes representatives from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, local Conservation Authorities, universities, and other interested stakeholders.

Several recovery measures have already been implemented. For example, there are currently four aquatic ecosystem-based recovery strategies for the following areas: Thames River, Sydenham River, Grand River and the Essex-Erie region. Each of these ecosystem-based strategies helps to support various populations of Eastern Sand Darter. In addition, stewardship and outreach/awareness programs to reduce identified threats are ongoing.

Visit the (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Eastern Sand Darter (Ontario populations)

Eastern Sand Darter in its preferred sandy habitat

Eastern Sand Darter in its preferred sandy habitat
Alan Dextrase (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

Scientific Name: Ammocrypta pellucida
SARA Status: Threatened (June 2003)*
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (November 2009)
Region: Central & Arctic (Ontario)

Ontario distribution of the Eastern Sand Darter.

Ontario distribution of the Eastern Sand Darter.

Did You Know?

The Eastern Sand Darter buries itself in the sand, sometimes completely or leaving only its eyes exposed. This enables the fish to stay put in fast water and perhaps hide from predators. Thus, it is very vulnerable to any activity that could alter its preferred clean sand habitat.

Related information

Dard de sable (populations de l'Ontario)

Ammocrypta pellucida

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Noter :

Le dard de sable a été inscrit comme espèce « menacée » en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en juin 2003. Le COSEPAC a réévalué le statut de l'espèce en 2009 et a maintenu le statut « menacé ». Toutefois, les populations canadiennes de dard de sable ont été séparées en deux unités désignables, une première unité désignable pour les populations du Québec et une deuxième pour les populations de l'Ontario.

Description

Le dard de sable est un poisson translucide et allongé à la teinte jaunâtre ou argentée, orné d'une série de 10 à 14 taches latérales foncées. Il est partiellement recouvert d'écailles. Adulte, il mesure habituellement entre 45 et 70 mm.

Habitat

La répartition mondiale du dard de sable est limitée à l’Amérique du Nord. Son aire de répartition principale se trouve dans le centre-est du nord des États-Unis jusqu'à l'extrême sud de l'Ontario, alors qu'une aire plus petite est localisée au Québec et inclut quelques tributaires dans les États du Vermont et de New York. En Ontario, on le trouve dans les lacs Sainte-Claire et Érié, et dans plusieurs cours d'eau du sud-ouest de l'Ontario.

Le dard de sable se nourrit surtout de larves de moucherons et de zooplanctons. Le dard de sable fréquente habituellement les aires sablonneuses des cours d'eau ainsi que les hauts-fonds sablonneux des lacs.

Menaces

La présence de l'espèce en Ontario a diminué de moitié depuis les années 1970 en raison de la dégradation et de la destruction de l'habitat entraînées par le développement urbain et agricole, la canalisation des cours d'eau et la pollution. Les barrages créent des obstacles au libre passage des poissons et ont des conséquences pour l'habitat dans certains cours d'eau. Les espèces envahissantes présentent un risque éventuel important. En particulier, on s'inquiète de plus en plus de la colonisation progressive par le gobie à taches noires des tributaires des Grands Lacs où vit le dard de sable.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Depuis juin 2003, le dard de sable est protégé par la Loi sur les espèces en péril, laquelle interdit de nuire aux individus de l'espèce, de les tuer ou de les capturer.

On travaille actuellement à la conception d'une stratégie de rétablissement en collaboration avec l'équipe de rétablissement, qui comprend des représentants de Pêches et Océans Canada, du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario, des organismes locaux de protection de la nature, des universités et d'autres parties intéressées.

Plusieurs mesures de rétablissement ont déjà été mises en œuvre. Par exemple, il existe actuellement quatre stratégies de rétablissement des écosystèmes aquatiques pour les zones suivantes : la rivière Thames, la rivière Sydenham, la rivière Grand et la région Essex-Érié. Chacune de ces stratégies écosystémiques aide à soutenir les diverses populations de dard de sable. De plus, des programmes de gérance et de sensibilisation sont en cours pour réduire les menaces reconnues.

Visitez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Dard de sable (populations de l'Ontario)

Dard de sable dans son habitat sablonneux préféré

Dard de sable dans son habitat sablonneux préféré
Alan Dextrase (ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario)

Nom scientifique : Ammocrypta pellucida
Statut selon la LEP : Menacée
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Menacée
Région : Centre et Arctique (Ontario)

Répartition du dard de sable en Ontario.

Répartition du dard de sable en Ontario.

Le saviez-vous?

Le dard de sable s'enfouit dans le sable, tantôt complètement, tantôt avec les yeux à découvert. De cette manière, il peut rester sur place dans un courant fort, à l'abri des prédateurs. Il est donc très vulnérable à toute activité qui pourrait modifier son habitat préféré de sable propre.

Renseignements connexes