Silver Chub

Macrhybopsis storeriana

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Non-active
NA
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Non-active NA
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

* The Silver Chub has been recently reassessed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). Currently it is considered a single population, and is listed as Special Concern. In 2012, COSEWIC split the populations into two separate units: 1) the Saskatchewan - Nelson River; and 2) the Great Lakes - Upper St. Lawrence. The Saskatchewan - Nelson River populations are not considered to be at risk, while the Great Lakes – Upper St. Lawrence populations are assessed as endangered (see Silver Chub (Great Lakes – Upper St. Lawrence populations))

A change in the legal status of the Silver Chub under the Species at Risk Act is now under consideration.

Description

The Silver Chub (Macrhybopsis storeriana) is a member of the Minnow family (Cyprinidae), and is the only species of the genus Macrhybopsis in Canada. It has the following characteristics:

  • Body is stout and thick;
  • Average length is 100 to 150 mm long; maximum length is 231 mm;
  • Coloured pale grey-green on the back, becoming silver on the sides and silvery white below; a faint lateral band is usually present;
  • Moderate-sized subterminal mouth, and a snout that projects beyond the mouth;
  • Slender barbel, usually present at the end of the maxillary (corner of the upper jaw); eye diameter is relatively large; and
  • Caudal fin is distinctly forked and lightly pigmented, except for lower three-to-four rays, which are white.

Habitat

The range of the Silver Chub extends from Lake Winnipeg, east into the Great Lakes basin, and then south, largely through the Mississippi River system from Minnesota to the Gulf of Mexico. In Canada, the Great Lakes - Upper St. Lawrence populations are found in the Great Lakes basin, limited to Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair and the extreme southern portion of Lake Huron. The Saskatchewan-Nelson River populations (reassessed in 2012 as “Not at Risk”) are found in southern Lake Winnipeg and in the Assiniboine and Red river drainages of Manitoba, North and South Dakota and Minnesota.

In Ontario, Silver Chub is found in large lakes and connecting rivers at depths of 7.6–12 m, although they have been caught as deep as 20 m. Substrate is typically silt or sand, but the species is also sometimes associated with hard substrates, such as gravel, rubble, boulder or bedrock. It is not typically associated with aquatic vegetation. Reproduction of the Silver Chub is poorly understood. Individuals mature at age 1, and live to 3-to-4 years of age. One female can produce as many as 12,000 eggs. Silver Chub spawn in spring or early summer (May to July) at water temperatures between 19-23°C; however, there is uncertainty regarding where the species spawns and its spawning habitat requirements. In Lake Erie, the species has been observed to leave open water and move into nearshore areas in early spring, possibly to begin spawning.

Threats

The Silver Chub was considered common in Lake Erie until the 1950s. Its rapid decline in the 1960s coincided with habitat degradation and eutrophication caused by urban and agricultural runoff. The effects included poor water quality, extensive algal blooms and depleted oxygen levels in the water. Effects on invertebrate populations reduced prey sources. Although some threats have decreased in recent years (e.g. nutrient loading in Lake Erie), many still exist. Recent threats include aquatic invasive species, baitfish harvesting and climate change. Recent studies also suggest that the population numbers have dropped substantially in the past decade, and the risk of extirpation (i.e. extinct in Canada) is high.

Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Silver Chub

Silver Chub (Macrhybopsis storeriana)

Macrhybopsis storeriana
© J. R. Tomelleri

Scientific Name: Macrhybopsis storeriana
SARA Status: Special Concern (June 2003)
COSEWIC Status: Non-Active
Region: Manitoba, Ontario

Silver Chub distribution in Canada

Map showing the distribution of the Silver Chub in Canada.

Did You Know?

The Silver Chub was considered common in Lake Erie until the 1950s. Its decline there coincided with declines in prey such as mayfly nymphs. A stable population of Silver Chub, one of the few remaining in North America, occurs in the Assiniboine and Red Rivers in Manitoba.

Related information

Méné à grandes écailles

Macrhybopsis storeriana

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non active
NA
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non active NA
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

* Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a réévalué le méné à grandes écailles. Actuellement, on considère l'espèce comme une seule population qui est désignée comme une espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. En 2012, le COSEPAC a divisé cette espèce en deux groupes distincts : 1) la population des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson; et 2) la population des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent. La population des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson n'est pas jugée en péril, mais la population des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent est jugée comme une espèce en voie de disparition (Le méné à grandes écailles (population des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent)).

Un changement dans le statut juridique du méné à grandes écailles en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril est actuellement à l'étude.

Description

Le méné à grandes écailles (Macrhybopsis storeriana), qui fait partie de la famille des ménés (Cyprinidae), est la seule espèce du genre Macrhybopsis au Canada. Elle possède les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Le corps est gros et épais;
  • La taille moyenne varie entre 100 et 150 mm de long; la longueur maximale est de 231 mm;
  • La couleur est gris-vert pâle sur le dos, argent sur les côtés et blanc argenté dessous; une légère bande latérale est habituellement observée;
  • La bouche subinfère est de taille modérée et le museau est plus long que la bouche;
  • Un barbillon fin est habituellement présent au bout du maxillaire (le coin de la mâchoire supérieur); le diamètre des yeux est relativement large;
  • La nageoire caudale est nettement fourchue et légèrement pigmentée à l'exception des trois ou quatre rayons de nageoire inférieurs qui sont blancs.

Habitat

L'aire de répartition du méné à grandes écailles s'étend à l'est du lac Winnipeg jusqu'au bassin des Grands Lacs, puis au sud dans le réseau hydrographique du fleuve Mississippi du Minnesota au golfe du Mexique. Au Canada, la population des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent est présente dans le bassin des Grands Lacs, en se limitant aux lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire et à la partie extrême sud du lac Huron. La population de la Saskatchewan-Nelson (réévaluée comme espèce « non en péril » en 2012) se trouve dans le sud du lac Winnipeg et dans les bassins versants des rivières Assiniboine et Red dans le Manitoba, le Dakota du Nord et le Dakota du Sud et le Minnesota.

En Ontario, le méné à grandes écailles se trouve dans les grands lacs et leurs affluents à une profondeur de 7,6 à 12 m, bien qu'il ait déjà été pris jusqu'à une profondeur de 20 m. Habituellement, le substrat du méné est composé de vase et de sable, mais l'espèce est parfois associée à des substrats durs comme le gravier, les moellons, les blocs de roche ou les substrats rocheux. L'espèce n'est généralement pas associée à la végétation aquatique. La reproduction du méné à grandes écailles est peu connue. Le méné à grandes écailles devient mature à 1 an et vit jusqu'à 3 ou 4 ans. Une femelle peut produire jusqu'à 12 000 œufs. Le méné à grandes écailles fraie au printemps ou au début de l'été (de mai à juillet) dans une eau entre 19 et 23 ºC; toutefois, les lieux de frai et les exigences relatives à l'habitat de frai restent méconnus. Dans le lac Érié, on a observé l'espèce quitter les eaux libres pour se rendre dans des zones littorales au début du printemps, peut-être pour frayer.

Menaces

Le méné à grandes écailles était considéré comme une espèce commune du lac Érié jusque dans les années 1950. Son déclin rapide dans les années 1960 a coïncidé avec la dégradation de son habitat et l'eutrophisation causée par le ruissellement urbain et agricole. Cela a entraîné une mauvaise qualité de l'eau, une prolifération d'algues et l'épuisement des niveaux d'oxygène dans l'eau. Les conséquences sur les populations d'invertébrés ont réduit le nombre de proies. Bien que certaines menaces aient diminué ces dernières années, notamment la décharge d'éléments nutritifs dans le lac Érié, de nombreuses autres demeurent. Au nombre des menaces récentes, mentionnons les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, la récolte de poissons-appâts et le changement climatique.

Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Méné à grandes écailles

Méné à grandes écailles (Macrhybopsis storeriana)

Macrhybopsis storeriana
© J. R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Macrhybopsis storeriana
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupante
Statut selon COSEPAC : Non active
Région : Manitoba, Ontario

Répartition du méné à grandes écailles au Canada

Carte montrant la répartition du méné à grandes écailles au Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

Le méné à grandes écailles était considéré comme une espèce courante dans le lac Érié jusque dans les années 1950. Son déclin à cet endroit a coïncidé avec le déclin de proies telles que les nymphes d'éphémères communes. Une population stable de ménés à grandes écailles, une des rares populations qui existent encore en Amérique du Nord, se trouve dans les rivières Assiniboine et Rouge au Manitoba.

Renseignements connexes