Lake Sturgeon (Saskatchewan River)

Acipenser fulvescens

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

General Description

Lake Sturgeon are a slow-growing and long-lived freshwater fish. Although Lake Sturgeon have been recorded to reach over three metres (m) in length and 180 kilograms (kg) in weight, they are now rarely found over 1.5 m in length or 35 kg in weight. The Lake Sturgeon has a cartilaginous skeleton, and a shark-like tail. Rather than fish scales, the juveniles and larval Lake Sturgeon have external bony scutes, which are less pronounced on larger individuals. The head has a pointed snout with four pendulous barbels, and a ventrally located mouth. It is dark to light brown in colour on its’ back and sides, with a lighter coloured belly. Individual Lake Sturgeon have been known to live up to 150 years old, but such ages are rare today. Lake Sturgeon often move short distances (one to 20 km) between feeding sites in large rivers and lakes and into spawning and overwintering areas, but are able to migrate longer distances (greater than 100 km). Unlike most fish, Lake Sturgeon do not sexually mature and begin spawning until they are relatively old, approximately 15 years for males, and 25 years for females. There is also some evidence to suggest that spawning may not take place every year during the reproductive years.

Habitat

The range of Lake Sturgeon once extended from western Alberta to the St. Lawrence drainage in Quebec, and from southern Hudson Bay drainages to the lower Mississippi drainage. Their abundance and historic range in the United States are much reduced and they are considered endangered in many states. In Canada, Lake Sturgeon occur in rivers around southern Hudson Bay, in the Great Lakes, and in inland lakes and rivers from Alberta to Quebec. Lake Sturgeon populations in different areas of Canada are being assessed separately (see Table 1). The Saskatchewan River populations, termed Designatable Unit 2 (DU2), refer to the Lake Sturgeon in the Saskatchewan River system of Manitoba and Saskatchewan and the North and South Saskatchewan River system in Saskatchewan and Alberta.

Lake Sturgeon are bottom-dwelling fish found in large rivers and lakes, at depths generally between 5 and 10 m, sometimes greater. Spawning occurs in the spring in fast-flowing water at depths between 0.6 and 5 m over hard-pan clay, sand, gravel and boulders. Unlike most fish, Lake Sturgeon do not mature and reproduce until they are quite old, typically 15 years for males and 25 years for females. There is also some evidence to suggest that spawning may not take place every year during the reproductive years. The number of eggs may range from 50,000 to over 1,000,000 depending on the size of the fish, and incubation takes about seven to ten days in water of 13 to 15º Celsius. Larvae are negatively buoyant until the swim bladder starts to form about 6o days after hatching. The young-of-the-year grow rapidly and may reach 20 cm by the end of the first summer.

Lake Sturgeon feed on a variety of benthic organisms depending on the season, location and river bottom type. Some food items include small benthic fishes, insect larvae, molluscs, crayfishes, and on occasion, fish eggs. They may also feed in the water column on pelagic zooplankton, such as Daphnia and occasionally on insects at the surface.

Threats

Human activities represent the most important threat to Lake Sturgeon. Historically, commercial fishing caused precipitous declines in many Lake Sturgeon populations. None of these populations has fully recovered. More recently, the direct and indirect effects of dams pose important threats. Dams result in habitat loss and fragmentation, altered flow regimes, and may increase mortality by entrainment in turbines. Habitat degradation resulting from poor land use and agricultural practices also has had an adverse impact on many populations. Other threats may include contaminants, poaching and the introduction of non-native species.

Further Information

To learn more about Lake Sturgeon, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Text Sources: COSEWIC Status Report 2006.

Lake Sturgeon (Saskatchewan River)

Lake Sturgeon (Illustration © J.R. Tomelleri)

Acipenser fulvescens
Illustration © J.R. Tomelleri

Scientific Name: Acipenser fulvescens
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status
: Endangered
Regions: Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba

Distribution of the Lake Sturgeon, Saskatchewan River population in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba as described in the following paragraphs

The map indicates the distribution of the Lake Sturgeon, Saskatchewan River population in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

Did You Know?

The Lake Sturgeon is one of Canada’s largest freshwater fish and may live to over 100 years.

Lake Sturgeon can be distinguished from the Shovelnose Sturgeon (Scaphirhynchus platorynchus) by its more rounded snout and caudal peduncle.

  • Lake Sturgeon - <em>Acipenser fulvescens</em>

    Photo Credit: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

  • Lake Sturgeon - <em>Acipenser fulvescens</em>

    Photo Credit: Karen Scott

  • Lake Sturgeon - <em>Acipenser fulvescens</em>

    Photo Credit: Karen Scott

Related information

Esturgeon jaune (rivière Saskatchewan)

Acipenser fulvescens

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description générale

L'esturgeon jaune est un poisson d'eau douce d'une grande longévité, qui atteint la maturité à un âge avancé. Bien qu'il ait été observé que l'esturgeon jaune puisse atteindre une longueur de plus de trois mètres et un poids de 180 kilogrammes (kg), il est maintenant rare d'en trouver qui font plus de 1,5 m et qui pèsent plus de 35 kg. L'esturgeon jaune a un squelette cartilagineux et une nageoire caudale semblable à celle d’un requin. Le corps des larves et des esturgeons jaunes juvéniles est recouvert de plaques osseuses dures plutôt que d'écailles, celles-ci étant moins prononcées sur les plus grands poissons. Sa tête est composée d'un museau pointu avec quatre barbillons pendants et une bouche ventrale. La couleur de son dos et de ses côtés varie de brun foncé à brun clair, son ventre est plus pâle. Certains esturgeons jaunes ont vécu jusqu'à 150 ans, mais l'atteinte d'un tel âge est maintenant rare. L'esturgeon jaune se déplace sur de courtes distances (de 1 à 20 km) entre les lieux d'alimentation dans les grandes rivières et les lacs, puis entre les habitats de frai et d’hivernation. Par contre, lors de la migration, il peut parcourir de plus grandes distances (plus de 100 km). Contrairement à la plupart des autres poissons, l'esturgeon jaune n'atteint pas la maturité sexuelle, pour ainsi commencer à frayer, avant un âge relativement avancé, soit environ 15 ans pour les mâles et 25 ans pour les femelles. Selon certaines études, le frai n'aurait pas lieu chaque année pendant les années de reproduction.

Habitat

L’aire de répartition de l’esturgeon jaune s’étendait autrefois de l’ouest de l’Alberta au bassin hydrographique du Saint-Laurent au Québec, et des bassins hydrographiques du sud de la baie d’Hudson au bassin hydrographique du cours inférieur du Mississippi. Son abondance et son aire de répartition historiques aux États-Unis sont passablement réduites, et on considère que l’espèce est en voie de disparition dans nombre d’États. Au Canada, l’esturgeon jaune est présent dans les cours d’eau du sud de la baie d’Hudson, dans les Grands Lacs, ainsi que dans les lacs et les cours d’eau intérieurs de l’Alberta jusqu’au Québec.

L’esturgeon jaune est un poisson des grandes profondeurs qui habite les grands cours d’eau et les lacs et que l’on rencontre à des profondeurs variant généralement entre 5 et 10 m, parfois plus. Le frai a lieu au printemps à des profondeurs se situant entre 0,6 et 5 m dans des cours d’eau de fort courant aux fonds d’argile dure, de sable, de gravier et de blocs rocheux. Contrairement à la plupart des autres poissons, l'esturgeon jaune n'atteint pas la maturité sexuelle, pour ainsi commencer à frayer, avant un âge relativement avancé, soit environ 15 ans pour les mâles et 25 ans pour les femelles. Selon certaines études, le frai n'aurait pas lieu chaque année pendant les années de reproduction. Le nombre d’oeufs pondus peut varier de 50 000 à plus de 1 000 000, selon la taille des individus, et l’incubation dure environ de 7 à 10 jours dans des eaux de 13 à 15ºC. Les larves ne flottent pas tant que leur vessie natatoire n’a pas commencé à se développer, environ 60 jours après l’éclosion. Les jeunes de l'année ont une croissance rapide et peuvent mesurer 20 cm à la fin de leur premier été.

L’esturgeon jaune se nourrit de divers organismes benthiques selon la saison, l’emplacement et le substrat, entre autres de petits poissons benthiques, de larves d’insectes, de mollusques, d’écrevisses et, occasionnellement, d’œufs de poisson. Il peut également s’alimenter dans la colonne d’eau, où il trouve du zooplancton pélagique tel que les daphnies et, de temps en temps, des insectes en surface.

Menaces

L’activité humaine représente la menace la plus importante qui pèse sur l’esturgeon jaune. Historiquement, la pêche commerciale a causé des déclins abrupts chez de nombreuses populations d’esturgeon jaune. Aucune de ces populations ne s’est entièrement rétablie. Plus récemment, les effets directs et indirects des barrages constituent également des menaces importantes. Ils provoquent la perte et la fragmentation des habitats et des modifications aux régimes d’écoulement, et peuvent augmenter la mortalité par l’entraînement d’individus dans les turbines. La dégradation de l’habitat résultant d’une utilisation des terres et de pratiques agricoles médiocres a également eu un effet négatif sur nombre des populations. Parmi les autres menaces pesant sur l’espèce, mentionnons les contaminants, le braconnage et l’introduction d’espèces exotiques.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Sources du texte : Rapport de situation du COSEPAC 2007.

Esturgeon jaune (rivière Saskatchewan)

Esturgeon jaune (Illustration © J.R. Tomelleri)

Acipenser fulvescens
Illustration © J.R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Acipenser fulvescens
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Régions : Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba

Répartition de l’esturgeon jaune en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba telle que décrite dans les pages suivants

La carte indique la répartition de l’esturgeon jaune en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba.

Le saviez-vous?

L’esturgeon jaune est l’un des plus gros poissons d’eau douce au Canada.

L’esturgeon jaune se distingue de l’esturgeon à museau plat (Scaphirhynchus platorynchus) par son museau plus arrondi et son pédoncule caudal.

  • Esturgeon jaune - <em>Acipenser fulvescens</em>

    Crédit photo : U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

  • Esturgeon jaune - <em>Acipenser fulvescens</em>

    Crédit photo : Karen Scott

  • Esturgeon jaune - <em>Acipenser fulvescens</em>

    Crédit photo : Karen Scott

Renseignements connexes