Unarmoured Threespine Stickleback

Gasterosteus aculeatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Unarmoured Threespine Stickleback, also known as the Charlotte Unarmoured Stickleback, is a small (~65 mm length) freshwater fish, likely descended from the marine Threespine Stickleback (Gasterosteus aculeatus). Freshwater Threespine Sticklebacks typically have three dorsal spines, an anal spine, two pelvic spines and bony plates on the sides of their bodies. A key feature of Unarmoured Threespine Stickleback's appearance is the loss of one or more of the typical dorsal spines, and the reduction or absence of bony plates on the sides of their bodies.

Habitat

The Unarmoured Threespine Stickleback occurs only within Boulton, Rouge, and Serendipity lakes on Graham Island, Haida Gwaii, British Columbia. Boulton, Rouge, and Serendipity lakes are small, shallow, acidic water bodies, surrounded by Sphagnum spp. bog and scrub coniferous forest. In general, the species likely requires: sustained productivity in open water and near-shore habitats, including natural near-shore vegetation; absence of invasive species; and gently sloping sand/gravel beaches.

Boulton Lake is mainly fed by groundwater seepage and has an intermittent outlet to the Pacific Ocean. The lake-bottom consists of varying materials including thick organic ooze, sand, and gravel. Its water is relatively clearer than Rouge and Serendipity lakes. In Boulton Lake, adult females are primarily found in open waters in spring and summer, while adult males typically remain near shore to nest; both sexes move to deeper water in the winter. Rouge Lake is smaller, shallower, and more acidic than Boulton Lake; its lake-bottom consists primarily of organic ooze and sand. Serendipity Lake is similar in size, depth, and acidity to Rouge Lake; its lake-bottom consists primarily of thick organic ooze. Both Rouge and Serendipity lakes are mainly fed by groundwater seepage; their outflows are blocked by beaver dams.

Threats

The key threat to the Unarmoured Threespine Stickleback is the introduction of invasive species. Other threats include changes in predator regimes, human disturbance (e.g. rural and industrial activities), erosion, severe winter conditions and potentially, habitat changes caused by introduced beavers.

Further Information

The Unarmoured Threespine Stickleback species is being considered for listing under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) as Special Concern. More information about SARA, including how it protects individual species, is available on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

To find out if this species is protected by provincial laws, consult the Province of British Columbia's website.

Unarmoured Threespine Stickleback

Unarmoured Threespine Stickleback

Photo credit: Dr. T. E. Reimchen

Scientific Name: Gasterosteus aculeatus
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (2013)
Region: British Columbia

Did You Know?

Unarmoured Threespine Sticklebacks are unusually tolerant to acidic waters; in Serendipity Lake, pH levels can be as low as 3.9.

Related information

Épinoche à trois épines lisse

Gasterosteus aculeatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L'épinoche à trois épines lisse, aussi connue sous le nom d'épinoche lisse des îles de la Reine-Charlotte, est un petit poisson d'eau douce (environ 65 mm de longueur), probablement descendant de l'épinoche à trois épines marine (Gasterosteus aculeatus). Les épinoches à trois épines d'eau douce ont généralement trois épines dorsales, une épine anale, deux épines pelviennes et des plaques osseuses sur les côtés de son corps. Une importante caractéristique physique de l'épinoche à trois épines lisse est l'absence d'une ou de plusieurs des épines dorsales typiques, et la plus petite taille ou l'absence de plaques osseuses sur les côtés de son corps.

Habitat

L'épinoche à trois épines lisse n'est présente que dans les lacs Boulton, Rouge et Serendipity sur l'île Graham, à Haida Gwaii, en Colombie-Britannique. Les lacs Boulton, Rouge et Serendipity sont de petits plans d'eau acides et peu profonds, entourés de tourbières de Sphagnum spp. et d'une forêt de conifères. En général, l'espèce semble avoir besoin des éléments suivants : une productivité soutenue dans les habitats littoraux et en eaux libres, y compris de la végétation riveraine naturelle, l'absence d'espèces envahissantes, et des plages de sable et de gravier en pente douce.

Le lac Boulton est principalement alimenté par des infiltrations d'eau souterraine et présente un point d'évacuation intermittent jusqu'à l'océan Pacifique. Le fond du lac est composé de différents matériaux, notamment une épaisse boue organique, du sable et du gravier. L'eau y est relativement plus limpide que dans les lacs Rouge et Serendipity. Dans le lac Boulton, les femelles adultes vivent surtout dans les eaux libres au printemps et en été, tandis que les mâles adultes demeurent généralement près de la côte pour la nidification; les deux sexes se déplacent vers des eaux plus profondes en hiver. Le lac Rouge est plus petit, moins profond et plus acide que le lac Boulton, et son fond est principalement constitué de sable et de boue organique. Le lac Serendipity est similaire au lac Rouge en regard de sa taille, de sa profondeur et de son acidité; son fond est surtout constitué d'une épaisse boue organique. Les lacs Rouge et Serendipity sont principalement alimentés par des infiltrations d'eau souterraine; leurs effluents sont bloqués par des barrages de castors.

Menaces

La principale menace pour l'épinoche à trois épines lisse est l'introduction d'espèces envahissantes. Les autres menaces comprennent les changements dans les régimes de prédation, les perturbations d'origine anthropique (p. ex., activités rurales et industrielles), l'érosion, les conditions hivernales rudes et, possiblement, les modifications de l'habitat causées par les castors (une espèce introduite).

Renseignements supplémentaires

On envisage l'inscription de l'épinoche à trois épines lisse en tant qu'espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). De plus amples renseignements sur la LEP, y compris comment elle protège chaque espèce, sont disponibles dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Pour savoir si cette espèce est protégée par des lois provinciales, consultez le site Web de la Colombie-Britannique.

Épinoche à trois épines lisse

L'épinoche à trois  épines lisse

Crédit photo : Dr. T. E. Reimchen

Nom scientifique : Gasterosteus aculeatus
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupante
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupante
Région : Colombie-Britannique

Le saviez-vous?

L'épinoche à trois épines lisse est exceptionnellement résistante aux eaux acides du lac Serendipity, dont le pH peut être aussi bas que 3,9.

Renseignements connexes