Atlantic Wolffish

Anarhichas lupus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Atlantic Wolffish (Anarhichas lupus) is the most abundant of the three wolffish species in the Northwest Atlantic Ocean. It has powerful canine-like teeth at the front of both jaw bones. Its head is large (relative to the body) with a large mouth and rounded snout, small eyes and a long, stout body with large pectoral fins, but no pelvic fins. Atlantic Wolffish colouration can vary, depending on the environment, from slate blue to dull olive green and their upper body typically has ten or more irregular stripes. The Atlantic Wolffish can grow to 150 cm in length.

Habitat

The Atlantic Wolffish is widely distributed on both sides of the North Atlantic and in the Arctic. In the northeastern Atlantic, it occurs from Iceland, the Faroe Islands, and the North Sea to the Barents Sea and the White Sea. In the western North Atlantic, it occurs nearly continuously from Davis Strait to Cape Hatteras. In Canadian waters, the Atlantic Wolffish occurs off Baffin Island, in the Labrador Sea, off Newfoundland, in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, on the Scotian Shelf, in the Bay of Fundy and Gulf of Maine. This species is very rare in the northern part of its range (the Arctic). Of the three wolffish species, the Atlantic Wolffish is the species that is commonly distributed in both inshore (nearshore and bays) and offshore areas. It prefers colder water temperatures between 0.5 and 3°C and is usually found at depths between 100 and 500 m. The Atlantic Wolffish can be found on a variety of bottom types, from sandy to stony, with large rocks or boulders present. Its diet consists mainly of brittlestars (a form of starfish), sea urchins, crabs, and shrimp.

wolfish

Figure 1. Map displaying the approximate distribution of the Atlantic Wolffish (adapted from the 2012 Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) assessment on the Atlantic Wolffish Anarhichas lupus in Canada).

Map displaying the distribution of the Atlantic Wolffish. The extent of the map is 40 to 70 degrees North latitude. Atlantic wolffish are found from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA in the south, throughout the waters surrounding Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Newfoundland and extending to the northern tip of Labrador. The map is based on the COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Atlantic Wolffish (Anarhichas lupus) in Canada (2012).

Threats

The main threat to Atlantic Wolffish is bycatch in fisheries targeting other species. Climate change could also affect the distribution and abundance of Atlantic Wolffish.

Further Information

The Atlantic Wolffish is listed as Special Concern under the Species at Risk Act. A joint recovery strategy for Northern and Spotted Wolffish and Management Plan for Atlantic Wolffish was published in 2008 with the main goal being to increase the population levels and distribution of Atlantic Wolffish such that long-term viability of the population is achieved. Some means to accomplish this are: to improve the knowledge of Atlantic Wolffish biology and life history; to identify, conserve and protect their habitat; to mitigate human impacts on their habitat and survival; to promote growth and recovery of the population; and to develop and deliver educational programs to promote their conservation and recovery.

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

Atlantic Wolffish

Illustration of a redfish

Illustration of an Atlantic Wolffish viewed from the side. The Atlantic Wolffish is light grey with dark grey vertical bars across its body. The mouth is large with protruding canine-like teeth. The body is elongated and the head is large in comparison to the body. The fin along the back (the dorsal fin) extends from the head all the way to the tail fin and the fin on the bottom of the fish (the anal fin) extends from the middle of the belly all the way to the tail fin. The tail fin is small and the side fins (pectoral fins) are large.

SARA Status: Special Concern (June 2003)
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (November 2000; November 2012)
Regions: Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island

Did You Know?

Mature Atlantic Wolffish move inshore to spawn in spring and summer. They set up nesting sites on boulders and in rocky crevices at depths <40 m. The male of each mating pair guards the egg cluster (“nest”) through late summer and early fall until all eggs hatch.

Related information

Loup atlantique

Anarhichas lupus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le loup atlantique (Anarhichas lupus) est la plus abondante des trois espèces de loup de mer dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest. Il a de grandes dents qui ressemblent à des canines à l'avant des os de ses mâchoires. Il a une grosse tête (par rapport à son corps), une grande bouche et un museau arrondi et de petits yeux. Son corps allongé et robuste est doté de grandes nageoires pectorales, mais est dépourvu de nageoires pelviennes. La couleur du loup atlantique varie, selon l'environnement, de bleu ardoise à vert olive terne, et il a dix bandes ou plus de formes irrégulières sur la partie supérieure de son corps. Le loup atlantique peut mesurer jusqu'à 150 cm de long.

Habitat

L'espèce est largement répandue dans tout l'Atlantique Nord et dans l'Arctique. Dans l'est de l'Atlantique Nord, elle est présente depuis l'Islande, les îles Féroé et la mer du Nord jusqu'à la mer de Barents et la mer Blanche. Dans l'ouest de l'Atlantique Nord, elle est présente presque de façon continue du détroit de Davis jusqu'au cap Hatteras. Dans les eaux canadiennes, le loup atlantique se trouve au large de l'île de Baffin, dans la mer du Labrador, au large de Terre-Neuve, dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, sur le plateau néo-écossais, dans la baie de Fundy et dans le golfe du Maine. Cette espèce est très rare au nord de son aire de répartition (l'Arctique). Parmi les trois espèces de loups de mer, le loup atlantique est l'espèce qui est communément répartie à la fois dans les zones côtières (les eaux côtières et les baies) et au large. Elle préfère les eaux plus froides (entre 0,5 et 3°C) et se trouve souvent à des profondeurs entre 100 et 500 mètres. Le loup atlantique se trouve sur de nombreux types de fonds, de sablonneux à rocheux, avec de grosses pierres ou des blocs rocheux. Le régime alimentaire du loup atlantique est surtout composé d'ophiures (une forme d'étoile de mer), d'oursins, de crabes et de crevettes.

wolfish

Figure 1. Carte de la répartition approximative du loup atlantique (adaptée à partir de l’évaluation du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada [COSEPAC] sur le loup atlantique Anarhichas lupus au Canada, 2012).

Carte de la répartition du loup atlantique. La carte s’étend du 40e degré au 70e degré de latitude Nord. Le loup atlantique se trouve du cap Cod, Massachusetts, É.-U. au sud, dans les eaux entourant la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nouveau-Brunswick, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le Québec, Terre-Neuve et jusqu’à la pointe nord du Labrador. La carte est fondée sur l’Évaluation et le Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le loup atlantique (Anarhichas lupus) au Canada (2012).

Menaces

La principale menace qui pèse sur le loup atlantique constitue les prises accessoires dans les pêches visant d'autres espèces. Le changement climatique pourrait également avoir une incidence sur la répartition et l'abondance du loup atlantique.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le loup atlantique figure sur la liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en tant qu'espèce préoccupante. Un programme de rétablissement conjoint pour le loup à tête large et le loup tacheté ainsi qu'un plan de gestion pour le loup atlantique ont été publiés en 2008 avec comme objectif principal d'augmenter les niveaux de population et la répartition de l'espèce de sorte à atteindre une viabilité à long terme de la population. Parmi les moyens pour y parvenir, il y a l'amélioration des connaissances de la biologie et du cycle biologique du loup atlantique; des façons de déterminer, conserver et de protéger son habitat, ainsi que des façons d'atténuer les répercussions humaines sur son habitat et sa survie; des façons de promouvoir la croissance et le rétablissement de la population; et l'élaboration et le lancement de programmes éducatifs afin de promouvoir sa conservation et son rétablissement.

Visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Loup atlantique

Illustration d’un loup atlantique

Illustration d’un loup atlantique vu de profil Le corps du loup atlantique est gris clair et est traversé de barres verticales gris foncé. Il a une grande bouche avec des dents saillantes qui ressemblent à des canines. Son corps est allongé et il a une grosse tête par rapport à son corps. Sa nageoire dorsale (sur le dos) s’étend de la tête à la nageoire caudale (à la fin de sa queue) et sa nageoire anale (sur le ventre) s’étend du milieu du ventre jusqu’à la nageoire caudale. La nageoire caudale est petite et les nageoires latérales (nageoires pectorales) sont grandes.

Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupante (juin 2003)
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupante (novembre 2000; novembre 2012)
Régions: Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Nunavut, Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le saviez-vous?

Les loups atlantiques matures migrent dans les eaux côtières pour le frai au printemps et en été. Ils aménagent des sites de nidification sur des blocs rocheux et dans des crevasses rocheuses à moins de 40 mètres de profondeur. Le mâle de chaque couple protège la masse d'œufs (le « nid ») à la fin de l'été et au début de l'automne jusqu'à l'éclosion de tous les œufs.

Renseignements connexes