Aboriginal peoples

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) could have significant implications for Aboriginal peoples given the historical and cultural relationship of many Aboriginal groups to aquatic species. The Act recognizes this special relationship and acknowledges the valuable role Aboriginal people can play in the recovery and protection of species at risk.

If you or your community fishes for food, social and ceremonial (FSC) purposes or fishes commercially, the consequences of SARA will vary depending on where you are located, what kind of fish you catch, the kind of activities you carry out on Aboriginal lands, as well as the management measures that may be put in place to protect species at risk.

Possible impacts of SARA could include:

  • reduced fishing opportunities for FSC or commercial purposes
  • modifications of fishing gear
  • restrictions on bycatch of species
  • fishing area closures
  • closures or reductions in some fisheries
  • possible increased fishing opportunities in other fisheries

Because SARA also protects the critical habitat of aquatic species, this could affect the activities you carry out on Aboriginal lands. New bylaws or regulations could be required for activities that potentially impact species at risk and their critical habitats. Environmental assessments and reviews for development projects on and off Aboriginal lands must take into account the impacts on species at risk.

SARA requires that Aboriginal people have the opportunity to participate in its implementation. The Act makes a special reference to the inclusion of Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge in the recovery of species at risk.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has been working closely with Aboriginal groups to let them know about the Act and its possible implications. Together we are exploring the various ways in which Aboriginal groups can become involved, including participation in the development and implementation of species recovery strategies and action plans.

SARA also provides for the establishment of these two committees by Environment Canada:

  • National Aboriginal Council on Species at Risk (NACOSAR): NACOSAR will advise the Minister of the Environment on the administration of SARA and provide advice and recommendations to the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council.
  • The Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee on Species at Risk, of the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC): This subcommittee will provide access to the best available Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge and facilitate the use of this knowledge by COSEWIC when assessing and classifying species at risk.

Peuples autochtones

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) pourrait avoir des répercussions importantes sur les peuples autochtones étant donné les liens historiques et culturels qui existent entre de nombreux groupes autochtones et les espèces aquatiques. La Loi reconnaît l’existence de ces liens particuliers de même que le rôle majeur que peuvent jouer les peuples autochtones dans le rétablissement et la protection des espèces en péril.

Si vous ou votre communauté pêchez à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles, ou commerciales, les répercussions de la LEP varieront en fonction de l’endroit où vous vivez, des espèces de poisson que vous pêchez, du genre d’activités pratiquées sur les terres autochtones et des mesures de gestion mises en place pour protéger les espèces en péril.

Voici quelques-unes des répercussions possibles de la LEP :

  • réduction des possibilités de pêche à des fins alimentaires, sociales, rituelles et commerciales
  • modifications aux engins de pêche
  • restrictions sur les prises accidentelles
  • fermeture de certaines zones de pêche
  • fermeture ou diminution de certaines pêches
  • augmentation des possibilités dans d’autres pêches

Puisque la LEP protège aussi l’habitat essentiel des espèces aquatiques, elle pourrait avoir un impact sur les activités qui sont pratiquées sur les terres autochtones. De nouveaux arrêtés ou règlements pourraient être requis pour les activités qui sont susceptibles de nuire à une espèce en péril ou à son habitat essentiel. Les évaluations et examens des effets environnementaux des projets de développement réalisés sur des terres autochtones et non autochtones doivent tenir compte des effets sur les espèces en péril.

La LEP stipule que les peuples autochtones devraient avoir la possibilité de participer à sa mise en oeuvre. Elle dit expressément que les connaissances traditionnelles des peuples autochtones devraient être prises en compte dans le rétablissement des espèces en péril.

Pêches et Océans Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec les groupes autochtones afin de les informer au sujet des dispositions de la Loi et de ses répercussions éventuelles. Ensemble, nous examinons le rôle que pourraient jouer les groupes autochtones, entre autres dans l’élaboration et la mise en oeuvre de stratégies de rétablissement des espèces et de plans d’action.

La LEP prévoit également la création des deux comités par le ministère d’Environnement Canada :

  • Conseil autochtone national sur les espèces en péril (CANEP) : Le CANEP conseillera le ministre de l’Environnement sur l’application de la LEP et fournira des conseils et des recommandations au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril.
  • Le sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) : Ce sous-comité permettra d’avoir accès aux meilleures connaissances traditionnelles autochtones disponibles et d’assurer la meilleure utilisation de ces connaissances par le COSEPAC dans l’évaluation et la classification des espèces en péril.