Application for a Species at Risk Permit

This form is for information purposes only. To fill out a copy of this form, please download the Word doc version.

 Download the application form

1. Applicant Information

2. Qualifications of the applicant(s)

3. Preferred Language of Correspondence

4. Has the applicant received a SARA permit before?

5. Activity name

6. Listed Species affected

List species at risk that may be affected by the proposed activities (common and scientific names).

7. Purpose of the proposed activity(ies)

Select the option that most closely describes the purpose of your activity:

Indicate and explain if different purposes apply to different species at risk

8. Description of proposed activity(ies)

Provide a description of the activity(ies), and if applicable, a description of the project of which the activity is a part. Include an explanation of why each activity fits the category identified in the previous question.

9a. Location of the proposed activity(ies)

Provide a detailed description of the location of the activity(ies).

Indicate if the activity occurs in a land claim settlement area, on an Indian Reserve, or any other lands that are set apart for an Indian band.

If the activity will take place at sea, please indicate Fishery Management areas, and vessel , platform or aircraft information including photos, name and Commercial Fishing Vessel/Registration number, country of registration, and Foreign Vessel Clearance (if applicable).

10. Date of proposed activity(ies)

If applicable, describe the anticipated phases and their timelines:

11. Effects of the proposed activity(ies) on the species

  1. Describe any changes that the activity may cause to the individuals of the species, and the effect of those changes. Include the nature of the effect, and the estimated number of individuals that may be affected. Describe the potential significance of those effects on the population as a whole. If multiple activities are part of the project, please provide this information for each activity.

    Activity Change Effect Significance
  2. If applicable, describe any changes that the proposed activity(ies) may cause to any residences of the individuals of the species, and the effect of those changes. Include the nature of the effect, and the estimated number of residences that may be affected. Describe the potential significance of those effects on the population as a whole. If multiple activities are part of the project, please provide this information for each activity.

    Activity Change Effect Significance
  3. Describe any anticipated changes to the habitat of the species at risk. Include the amount and type of habitat to be impacted, and the life processes of the species supported by that habitat. Please indicate any habitat that is identified as critical habitat in a recovery strategy or action plan for the species. Describe the potential significance of those impacts on individuals of the species at risk or the population as a whole. If multiple activities are part of the project, please provide this information for each activity.

    Activity Change Effect Significance

12. Alternatives Considered

Describe, in detail, all the alternatives to the proposed activity(ies) that were considered to avoid or reduce the impact on the species, including:

  • other locations that have been considered that are outside of the species’ range or outside of critical habitat, and why these locations were rejected in favour of the current location. If no other locations were considered, please provide your rationale.
  • all alternative activities, technical or research designs, equipment or processes that were considered in order to achieve the outcomes of the proposed activity, and why these were rejected in favour of the proposed activity, design, equipment, or process (e.g., directional drilling instead of a stream crossing using trenching)
  • other timelines that were considered that would avoid periods when the species are present or sensitive to disturbance and, why these were rejected in favour of the proposed timelines

Explain why the current proposal is the best solution. If multiple activities are part of the project, please describe alternatives that were considered for each activity.

13. Measures to Minimize Impacts

Describe all the measures that will be implemented to minimize the impact of the activity on the species, its habitat, or the residences of its individuals, including:

  • a description of specific mitigation measures used to minimize impacts to the species (e.g., fish/mussel salvage, sediment and erosion control etc.) and the extent to which the measures have been demonstrated to be effective
  • specific contingency measures in the event that the mitigation measures fail
  • use of appropriate personnel to conduct the activities (e.g., the applicant has qualifications from a recognized institution, has demonstrated experience with the species, and/or has demonstrated experience with the proposed methodology)

If multiple activities are part of the project, please describe measures that will be implemented to minimize the impact of the activity on the species for each activity.

14. Monitoring

Describe how you will monitor the effects of your activity on the species. This includes monitoring the effectiveness of measures to minimize impacts to the species to determine whether the implementation of the measures achieved the intended outcomes.

15. Describe, to your best understanding, why the proposed activity(ies) will not jeopardize the survival or recovery of the species.

16. Offsetting measures

Will you be proposing offsetting measures to counterbalance residual adverse impacts that remain after implementing all reasonable alternatives to avoid impacts and all feasible measures to minimize impacts to the species?

Does your offsetting plan comply with the requirements outlined in section 16 of this Application Guide?

Have you discussed your offsetting plan with DFO?

If yes to any of the above, please attach your offsetting plan to the application.


The information you provide on this form is collected under the authority of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) for the purpose of applying for a SARA permit. The information will be used for processing the SARA permit. In addition, the information may be used by DFO’s Fisheries Officers for the purpose of compliance and enforcement with SARA. Failure to provide this personal information may result in your request being denied. You have the right to the correction of, access to, and protection of, your personal information under the Privacy Act and to file a complaint with the Privacy Commissioner of Canada over DFO’s handling of your information. Personal information collected through the processing of your application is described in SARA Permits Personal Information Bank DFO PPU 770 and can be accessed and assessed for accuracy. For more information, visit Info Source at www.infosource.gc.ca.

Please send your completed application to the Regional Manager, Species at Risk Program at the relevant DFO Regional office:

Pacific Region

(British Columbia, Yukon Territory, excluding the North Slope which is within Central and Arctic Region):

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
200-401 Burrard Street
Vancouver, BC V6C 3S4
Tel:  (604) 666-7907
E-mail:  sara@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Central & Arctic Region

(Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Yukon North Slope):

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Freshwater Institute
501 University Cr
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N6
Tel:  (204) 983-4438
E-mail:  fisheriesprotection@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Quebec Region

(Quebec, St. Lawrence River, Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence):

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
850 Route de la Mer
C.P. 1000
Mont-Joli, Québec G5H 3Z4
Tel:  (418) 775-0763
E-mail:  lep-sara-qc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Gulf Region

(Maritime Provinces adjacent to the Gulf of St. Lawrence):

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
P.O. Box 5030
343 Ave. Université
Moncton, N.B., E1C 9B6
Tel:  (506) 851-6253
Email:  GLF-SARA-LEP@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Maritimes Region

(from the northern tip of Cape Breton to the New Brunswick-Maine border):

Bedford Institute of Oceanography
P.O. Box 1006
1 Challenger Drive
Dartmouth, NS B2Y 4A2
Tel:  (902) 426-8503
E-mail:  XMARSARA@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Newfoundland/Labrador Region

(Newfoundland, Labrador):

Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre
East White Hills Rd
P.O. Box 5667
St. John’s, NFLD A1C 5X1
Tel:  (709) 772-4088
E-mail:  SARANL-LEPTNL@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Date modified:

Demande de permis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Cette page est uniquement fournie à titre d'information. Pour remplir une copie de ce formulaire, veuillez télécharger la Version Word.

 Téléchargez le formulaire de demande

1. Information sur le demandeur

2. Qualifications du demandeur

3. Langue de correspondance de préférence

4. Le demandeur a-t-il obtenu un permis de la LEP par le passé?

5. Nom de l'activité

6. Espèces inscrites touchées

Énumérez les espèces en péril qui pourraient être touchées par les activités proposées (noms communs et scientifiques)

7. Objectif des activités proposées

Sélectionnez l'option qui décrit le mieux l'objectif de votre activité :

Indiquez et expliquez si des objectifs différents s'appliquent aux différentes espèces en péril

8. Description des activités proposées

Fournissez une description des activités et, s'il y a lieu, une description du projet dont l'activité fait partie. Incluez une explication des raisons pour lesquelles chaque activité cadre avec la catégorie indiquée à la question précédente.

9a. Emplacement des activités proposées

Fournir une description détaillée de l'emplacement des activités.

Indiquez si l'activité se déroulera dans une zone de règlement des revendications territoriales, sur une réserve indienne ou sur d'autres terres mises de côté au profit d'une bande.

Si l'activité aura lieu en mer, veuillez indiquer les secteurs de gestion des pêches et fournir de l'information sur le navire, la plate-forme ou l'aéronef, notamment des photos, le nom et le numéro d'immatriculation/numéro de bateau de pêche commerciale, pays d'immatriculation et licence du navire étranger (s'il y a lieu).

10. Date des activités proposées

S'il y a lieu, décrivez les phases prévues et fournissez leurs calendriers.

11. Effets des activités proposées sur les espèces

  1. Indiquez tout changement que l'activité pourrait entraîner chez les individus des espèces et les répercussions de ces changements. Incluez la nature des répercussions et une estimation du nombre d'individus qui pourraient être touchés. Décrivez l'importance potentielle de ces effets sur la population dans son ensemble. Si de multiples activités font partie du projet, veuillez fournir l'information suivante pour chaque activité.

    Activité Changement Répercussions Importance
  2. S'il y a lieu, indiquez tout changement que les activités proposées pourraient causer aux résidences des individus des espèces et l'effet de ces changements. Incluez la nature des répercussions et une estimation du nombre de résidences qui pourraient être touchées. Décrivez l'importance potentielle de ces effets sur la population dans son ensemble. Si de multiples activités font partie du projet, veuillez fournir l'information suivante pour chaque activité.

    Activité Changement Répercussions Importance
  3. Décrivez tout changement attendu de l'habitat de l'espèce en péril. Incluez la superficie et le type d'habitat qui seront touchés de même que les processus vitaux des espèces soutenus par cet habitat. Veuillez signaler tout habitat qui est désigné comme étant un habitat essentiel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action pour l'espèce. Décrivez l'importance potentielle de ces impacts sur les individus de l'espèce en péril ou la population dans son ensemble. Si de multiples activités font partie du projet, veuillez fournir l'information suivante pour chaque activité.

    Activité Changement Répercussions Importance

12. Solutions de rechange envisagées

Décrire en détail toutes les solutions de rechange proposées qui ont été prises en considération pour éviter ou atténuer les impacts sur l'espèce, notamment :

  • si d'autres endroits ont été pris en considération à l'extérieur de l'aire de répartition de l'espèce ou à l'extérieur de sa zone d'habitat essentiel et la ou les raisons pour lesquelles l'endroit actuel a été retenu plutôt que ces autres endroits. Si aucun autre endroit n'a été pris en considération, veuillez le justifier;
  • toutes les activités de rechange, les conceptions techniques ou les méthodes de recherche, l'équipement ou les processus qui ont été pris en considération dans le but d'obtenir les résultats de l'activité qui est proposée et les raisons pour lesquelles ces activités ont été rejetées en faveur de l'activité, de la conception, de l'équipement ou du processus proposé (p. ex., forage dirigé plutôt que franchissement d'un cours d'eau par tranchée ouverte);
  • autres échéanciers qui ont été pris en considération pour éviter les périodes où l'espèce est présente ou sensible à la perturbation et les raisons pour lesquelles ces échéanciers ont été rejetés en faveur des échéanciers proposés.

Expliquer pourquoi la proposition actuelle constitue la meilleure solution; si de multiples activités font partie du projet, veuillez décrire les solutions de rechange envisagées pour chaque activité.

13. Mesures visant à réduire au minimum les conséquences négatives

Décrire toutes les mesures qui seront mises en œuvre afin de minimiser les conséquences négatives de l’activité pour l'espèce, son habitat essentiel ou la résidence de ses individus, notamment :

  • une description des mesures d'atténuation précises utilisées pour réduire au minimum les conséquences négatives pour l'espèce (p. ex., sauvetage de moules ou de poissons, contrôle de l'érosion et des sédiments, etc.) et la mesure dans laquelle il a été prouvé que les mesures sont efficaces;
  • des mesures d'urgence précises au cas où les mesures d'atténuation seraient inefficaces;
  • l'utilisation de personnel approprié pour réaliser les activités (p. ex., le demandeur a des qualifications acquises dans un établissement reconnu, a une expérience démontrée avec l'espèce ou a une expérience démontrée avec la méthodologie proposée).

Si de multiples activités sont incluses dans le projet, veuillez décrire les mesures qui seront mises en œuvre pour réduire au minimum les conséquences négatives de chaque activité pour l'espèce.

14. Surveillance

Expliquez comment vous contrôlerez les effets de votre activité sur l'espèce. Cela inclut le contrôle de l'efficacité des mesures visant à réduire au minimum les conséquences négatives pour l'espèce pour déterminer si la mise en œuvre des mesures a permis d'obtenir les résultats attendus.

15. Expliquez, autant que vous sachiez, les raisons pour lesquelles les activités proposées ne mettront pas en péril la survie ou le rétablissement de l'espèce.

16. Mesures de compensation

Proposerez‑vous des mesures de compensation pour contrebalancer les effets résiduels néfastes persistant à la suite de la mise en œuvre de solutions de rechange raisonnables en vue d'éviter des impacts et faire en sorte que toutes les mesures réalisables minimisent les conséquences pour les espèces?

Votre plan compensatoire est-il conforme aux exigences applicables énoncées à l'article 16 du présent guide?

Avez‑vous discuté de votre plan compensatoire avec Pêches et Océans Canada?

Si vous avez répondu oui à l'une ou l'autre des questions précédentes, veuillez joindre votre plan compensatoire à votre demande.


Les renseignements que vous indiquez dans le présent formulaire sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) aux fins d'une demande de permis au titre de la LEP. Les renseignements peuvent être utilisés pour le traitement du permis en vertu de la LEP. De plus, les agents des pêches de Pêches et Océans Canada pourraient s'en servir pour assurer le respect et l'application de la LEP. À défaut de fournir ces renseignements, votre demande pourrait être refusée. En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, vous avez le droit de rectifier vos renseignements personnels, d’y accéder et de les protéger. Vous avez aussi le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada au sujet du traitement de vos renseignements. Les renseignements personnels recueillis pour le traitement de votre demande sont décrits dans le fichier de renseignements personnels, Permis délivrés en vertu de la LEP, MPO PPU 770 et l'on peut y accéder et en évaluer l'exactitude. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez le site d'Info Source, à l'adresse www.infosource.gc.ca.

Veuillez envoyer votre demande remplie au gestionnaire régional, programme des espèces en péril, du bureau de Pêches et Océans Canada de la région visée :

Région du Pacifique

(Colombie-Britannique, Yukon, sauf le Versant nord, qui est à l'intérieur de la Région du Centre et de l'Arctique.)

Pêches et Océans Canada
401, rue Burrard, bureau 200
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V6C 3S4
Tél. :  604-666-0395
Courriel :  sara@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Région du Centre et de l'Arctique

(Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Nunavut, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, le versant nord du Yukon):

Pêches et Océans Canada
Institut des eaux douces
501, croissant University
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3T 2N6
Tél.:  204-983-4438
Courriel :  fisheriesprotection@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Région du Québec

(Québec, fleuve Saint-Laurent, nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent) :

Pêches et Océans Canada
850, route de la Mer C.P. 1 000
Mont-Joli (Québec) G5H 3Z4
Tél.:  418-775-0763
Courriel :  lep-sara-qc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Région du Golfe

(provinces des Maritimes adjacentes au golfe du Saint-Laurent) :

Pêches et Océans Canada
C.P. 5030
343, av. Université
Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) E1C 9B6
Tél.  506-851-6253
Courriel :  GLF-SARA-LEP@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Région des Maritimes

(de la pointe nord du Cap Breton à la frontière Nouveau-Brunswick-Maine) :

Institut océanographique de Bedford
C. P. 1006
1, promenade Challenger
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse) B2Y 4A2
Tél.:  902-426-8503
Courriel :  XMARSARA@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

(Terre-Neuve, Labrador) :

Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique nord-ouest
Chemin White Hills Est
C. P. 5667
St. John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) A1C 5X1
Tél.:  709-772-4088
Courriel :  SARANL-LEPTNL@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Date de modification :