Organizational Structure - Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Our Department is made up of national headquarters, based in Ottawa, and six regions, stretching from coast to coast to coast.

At the head of the Department is our Minister, the Honourable Dominic LeBlanc.

Deputy Minister reports directly to the Minister.

Reporting directly to the Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Oceans are the Associate Deputy Minister, the Commissioner of the Canadian Coast Guard and other members of the Departmental Management Board, which includes regional directors general and sector heads at national headquarters.

The following diagram illustrates the organizational structure.

[ Text version ] [Click on diagram to see full size]

DFO's Organizational Structure

Text Version

Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

Deputy Minister

Associate Deputy Minister

Regional Directors General
RDG, Central and Arctic
RDG, Gulf
RDG, Maritimes
RDG, Newfoundland and Labrador
RDG, Pacific
RDG, Quebec

Sector Heads
ADM, Ecosystems and Fisheries Management
ADM, Human Resources and Corporate Services
Chief Financial Officer
ADM, Strategic Policy
ADM, Program Policy
ADM, Ecosystems and Oceans Science
Chief Audit Executive
DG, Communications
Senior General Counsel
Executive Director, Values, Integrity and Conflict Resolution

Commissioner, Canadian Coast Guard

Deputy Commissioner, Operations

Deputy Commissioner, Strategy and Shipbuilding 

Assistant Commissioners
AC, Central and Arctic
AC, Western
AC, Atlantic

Directors General
DG, Operations
DG, Integrated Technical Services
DG, Program Requirements
DG, Integrated Business Management Services
Executive Director CCG College 
DG, Major Projects
ADM = Assistant Deputy Minister
RDG = Regional Director General
AC = Assistant Commissioner
DG = Director General