Science At-Sea

Science at-sea

As a coastal nation, our oceans define us. From coast to coast to coast, our scientists are at-sea collecting the information needed for safe navigation and the sustainable management of our aquatic ecosystems and resources.

About Science at-Sea

Understanding our oceans means we can better protect the aquatic life and ecosystems that our livelihood, safety, and culture depend on. The Science at-Sea program brings our scientists on to the water to study our oceans and the creatures that call them home.

Year round, we work with our science teams, the Canadian Coast Guard, communities and partners to carry out the research needed to monitor, conserve and protect our aquatic ecosystems and resources. Together, we collect the best data possible to deliver on Canada’s international commitments and inform decisions around safe navigation, fisheries management, climate change, or other activities on or in the water.

Videos

Videos

Watch our scientists in action!

Date modified:

Science en mer

Science en mer

En tant que nation côtière, nos océans nous définissent. D’un océan à l’autre, nos scientifiques recueillent en mer les informations nécessaires à une navigation sécuritaire, et à une gestion durable de nos écosystèmes et ressources aquatiques.

À propos de Science en mer

Comprendre nos océans signifie que nous pouvons mieux protéger la vie aquatique et les écosystèmes dont dépendent nos moyens de subsistance, notre sécurité, et notre culture. Le programme Science en mer envoie nos scientifiques sur l’eau pour étudier nos océans et les créatures qui y résident.

Tout au long de l’année, nous travaillons avec nos équipes de scientifiques, la Garde côtière canadienne, les communautés, et nos partenaires, afin d’effectuer les recherches nécessaires à la surveillance, la conservation et la protection de nos ressources et écosystèmes aquatiques. Ensemble, nous recueillons les meilleures données possibles pour respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada, et éclairer les décisions portant sur la sécurité de la navigation, la gestion des pêches, les changements climatiques ou d’autres activités sur ou dans l’eau.

Vidéos

Vidéos

Regarder nos chercheurs en action!

Date de modification :