Public engagement on the transition of open-net pen aquaculture in British Columbia

Current status: Open

Opened on February 11, 2021 and will close to new input on March 26, 2021.

We are seeking input on the development of a plan to transition open-net pen marine finfish aquaculture in coastal British Columbia waters by 2025. Close collaboration with the Province of British Columbia, Indigenous communities, industry, and other stakeholders will be critical in ensuring the transition is workable, economically feasible, and takes into account social impacts.

This engagement process is the first step in a series of outreach activities on the transition plan. The input received from Canadians will advise the development of the interim report, developed by Terry Beech, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister and Member of Parliament for Burnaby North – Seymour, which will be presented to the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard, and used to inform the next steps of engagement to develop the transition plan.

Join in: How to participate

Share your ideas online

Use the online form. (You won’t need to sign up for an account or provide any personal information.)

Who is the focus of this engagement

Terry Beech, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister and Member of Parliament for Burnaby North – Seymour is leading virtual engagements sessions with:

These sessions are being complemented by this online survey, to allow those who cannot participate in the virtual sessions, and the Canadian public, to have their opinions heard.

Key questions for discussion

Our vision is to position British Columbia as a global leader in innovative and sustainable aquaculture production, while protecting and rebuilding wild fish stocks as we transition from open-net pen salmon farming on the West Coast.

We are seeking ideas and input on:

Privacy notice statement

The Government of Canada is committed to respecting the privacy of participants. Participation in the activity is completely voluntary. You have the right to the correction of, access to, and protection of your personal information under the Privacy Act and to file a complaint with the Privacy Commissioner of Canada over DFO's handling of your information.

Please do not provide any personal information/history.

Feedback provided can be subject to access to information and privacy requests and will be administered in accordance with the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act.

Written comments can be submitted anonymously, no return address is required.

Related information

Contact us

Aquaculture Management Division – Pacific Region
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
401 Burrard Street
Vancouver, BC V6C 3R2
Email: PacificAquacultureEngagement@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Engagement publique sur la transition de l’aquaculture en parcs en filet en Colombie-Britannique

État actuel : En cours

Débute le 11 février 2021 et n’acceptera plus de commentaires le 26 mars 2021.

Nous souhaitons obtenir des commentaires sur l’élaboration d’un plan de transition de l’aquaculture des poissons marins en parcs en filet dans les eaux côtières de la Colombie-Britannique d’ici 2025. Une collaboration étroite avec le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique, les communautés autochtones, l’industrie et les autres intervenants sera essentielle, si l’on veut s’assurer que la transition est réalisable, économiquement viable, et qu’elle tient compte des répercussions sociales.

Ce processus d’engagement est la première étape d’une série d’activités de sensibilisation sur le plan de transition. Les commentaires reçus de la population canadienne permettront d'éclairer le rapport provisoire élaboré par Terry Beech, secrétaire parlementaire de la Ministre et député de Burnaby-Nord – Seymour, et qui sera présenté à la ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne, et utilisé pour orienter les prochaines étapes de l’engagement visant à élaborer le plan de transition.

Joignez vous à nous : comment participer

Faites part de vos idées en ligne

Utilisez le formulaire en ligne. (Vous n’aurez pas à créer un compte ni à fournir de renseignements personnels.)

Qui est visé par cet engagement

Terry Beech, secrétaire parlementaire de la Ministre et député de Burnaby-Nord – Seymour, dirige des séances de mobilisation virtuelles avec : 

Ce sondage en ligne est complémentaire à ces séances, pour permettre à quiconque ne pouvant pas participer aux séances virtuelles, et le public canadien, de faire entendre ses opinions.

Principaux sujets de discussion

Notre vision est de positionner la Colombie-Britannique comme un chef de file mondial en matière de production aquacole innovante et durable, tout en protégeant et en reconstituant les stocks de poissons sauvages lors de la transition de l’élevage du saumon en parcs en filet sur la côte Ouest.

Nous sommes à la recherche d’idées et de commentaires sur :

Énoncé de confidentialité

Le gouvernement du Canada s’engage à protéger les renseignements personnels des participants. La participation à cette activité est tout à fait volontaire. En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, vous avez le droit de corriger vos renseignements personnels, d’y accéder et de les protéger. Vous avez aussi le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada au sujet du traitement de vos renseignements par le MPO.

Ne fournissez aucun renseignement personnel/antécédent.

Les commentaires fournis peuvent faire l’objet de demandes d’accès à l’information et de protection de la vie privée et seront gérés conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les commentaires écrits peuvent être soumis de manière anonyme, aucune adresse de retour n’est requise.

Renseignements connexes

Contactez-nous

Division de la gestion de l’aquaculture – Région du Pacifique
Pêches et Océans Canada
401, rue Burrard Vancouver, C.-B. V6C 3S4
Courriel : EngagementAquaculturePacifique@dfo-mpo.gc.ca